Aragonese Elías Campo wins another prize for his work on cancer

The Spanish Cancer Research Association (Aseica) awarded the Huesca Prize Elías Campo the research prize in Cancer 2022 for his long professional career and numerous contributions to cancer research. In addition, Ángela Lamarca and Alejo Rodríguez-Fraticelli received the Young Research Talent Award, a recognition that aims to make visible and promote the scientific contributions of new leaders in molecular oncology.

These awards, highlight the efforts of Spanish researchers in advances against cancer, will be pronounced during the 18th International Congress of Aseica which will take place from November 16 to 18 in Santiago de Compostela. “We want to make visible the talent, the effort, and ultimately the excellent work carried out by Spanish researchers despite the difficulties they often face,” said the president of the association, Luis Paz-Ares. “Research is not a luxury, it is the only way we have to optimize the health and quality of life of our fellow citizens”remembered.

Field showed a “deep gratitude for what Aseica means for oncology research in Spain: it is the common ground for all cancer research. For me, who dedicates my research activity to bringing basic science closer to practice clinic, it is a great satisfaction”. Born in Boltaña (Huesca), Elías Campo graduated in Medicine and Surgery from the University of Barcelona in 1979 and obtained his doctorate in 1985. Professor of Pathological Anatomy and Senior Consultant in Hematopathology at Hospital Clínic de Barcelona, directs the Institute for Biomedical Research August Pi i Sunyer (Idibaps) in Barcelona. His research focuses on the study of genetic and molecular mechanisms involved in the pathogenesis of lymphoid neoplasms and their clinical implications.

The notable contributions of the Aragonese to oncology have earned him numerous awards such as the National Research Prize-Catalonia (2013), the King Jaume I Prize for Medical Research (2016), the National Research Prize Gregorio Marañón (2020) or the Jose Carreras Award European Hematology Association Award (2021). Additionally, he has been a member of the US National Academy of Medicine since 2019.

Ángela Lamarca will receive the Research Talent Award, in the clinical category; and Alejo Rodríguez-Fraticelli, in the base. These candidacies were proposed by members of the association.

Ángela Lamarca is a medical oncologist specializing in gastrointestinal neoplasms (hepato-pancreatic-biliary cancer and neuroendocrine tumors). He completed his training at Hospital Universitario La Paz, Madrid, and in 2013 he joined The Christie NHS Foundation Trust (Manchester, UK), where he completed a 4-year fellowship program in research and the treatment of this type of digestive disorders. tumors. . In 2017, he received the Conquer Cancer Foundation Young Investigator Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO). He worked at the Christie NHS Foundation Trust until May 2022, when he returned to Madrid to the Fundación Jiménez Díaz University Hospital, where he currently carries out his clinical and research activities.

Alejo E. Rodriguez-Fraticelli moved from Buenos Aires to Madrid, where she studied biochemistry and obtained her doctorate in cell and developmental biology at the Autonomous University of Madrid in 2014. She then moved to Boston (USA) to work at the Harvard University and Children’s Hospital Boston. During his postdoctoral stay, worked on the development of methods for tracing single cell lineages in the hematopoietic system that generated a revolutionary way of connecting cell states to cell fates through clonal analysis.

In 2021, Alejo became a senior researcher at IRB Barcelona, ​​where he leads the Quantitative Stem Cell Dynamics laboratory.

In addition to the Research Awards, Aseica will allocate more than 100,000 euros to two research grants, thanks to the support of the FERO Foundation and the Más que Un Trail Alcoi Foundation. These grants will be used to boost the careers of young scientists who have recently established their own research groups.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *