Asoban rewards six journalistic works on economy and finance in Bolivia

The contribution of private banking to the economic development of Bolivia and financial inclusion have been some of the thematic axes of the work gWinners of the second Economic and Financial Journalism Prizeorganized by the Association of Private Banks of Bolivia (Asoban) in collaboration with the EFE Agency.

In an act in the city of Santa Cruz, the winners in the categories of “published journalistic text” and “investigative text and video”with the participation of the leaders of Asoban, its associates and the EFE Agency.

“This initiative aims to strengthen the investigation of journalists in aspects that we consider important for the economic development of the country”, declared the president of Asoban, Ronald Gutiérrez.

Gutiérrez said that for this edition the themes on which the contest focused were the “contribution of banks to national development, guarantee funds and financial inclusion”aspects that he considers “important as a contribution, as something that the population must know through the media”.

The director of the EFE agency in Bolivia, Laura Núñez, stressed that “it is very important to promote this type of award and even more of an entity like Asoban, which, as a private banking association, encourages the achievement of better journalism and many more on issues that are part of people’s daily lives.

Winners and Categories

Among the winners are Melissa Revollo of the newspaper Opinión, who won first place in the “published text” category with the article titled “Young traders trust the QR in popular markets”, who was clearly happy, said to EFE that this initiative is a “incentive” which “gives more value to the journalistic work that must be done on a daily basis”.

In the same category, second place went to Efraín Varela, from Economy magazine with the article “Financial inclusion, the challenge of banks for the empowerment of women”; and Mauricio Vásquez, of the newspaper El Deber, with the work entitled “The QR Code, a new business ally that promotes financial inclusion”.

The president of Asoban, Ronald Gutiérrez, awards first place in the “investigative text” category to Milenka Betancourt with the work entitled “Inclusion and financial innovation, faces to build trust”, during the presentation of the second Economic and Financial Journalism Prize, today, in Santa Cruz (Bolivia). EFE/ Juan Carlos Torrejon

In the “investigative text” category, Milenka Betancourt won first place with the work entitled “Inclusion and financial innovation, the faces to build trust” and in the second to Pamela Cusicanqui and Maricarmen Barrón with the note “Credit, promoter of opportunities in the informal sector.

Betancourt expressed his satisfaction with this experience to EFE and said that with his text he sought to “show a work that is complete with many edges that focus on financial banking and digital banking”.

There was also a special mention for Magerlyn Quintanilla and Reynaldo Peralta of Bolivia TV with the video titled “The Boom of Digital Money”.

Recognition of journalistic effort

After the award ceremony, the journalist Tuffí Aré, president of the qualification jury, pointed out that among the works there is a “mixed national representation” and expresses her joy “to see a predominance in the first places for women”.

During the closing ceremony, Asoban’s Executive Secretary, Nelson Villalobos, reiterated that for the entity it is “a privilege to carry out initiatives that reward the effort, dedication and talent of professionals in the country. in a field as important as journalism”.

“Over time, we have promoted activities related to capacity building for specialized journalists and with the competition there has been a growing interest in economic and financial issues,” Villalobos pointed out.

Aspects such as narrative quality, originality of approach, informative impact, adequate treatment and depth of information, submission to the principles and ethical standards of journalism were valued in the works.

One of the requirements of the attribution rules was that the works had to be published in the media between July 1, 2021 and September 18, 2022.

The qualifying jury for this second prize was made up of Tuffí Aré, director of alternative media Asuntos Centrales; Emilia Pérez, Economics Director of the EFE Agency; Daniella de Sousa, head of economic studies at Asoban; and Jean Paul Guzmán, journalist and university professor. EFE

The slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *