Aspect, Clauser and Zeilinger win the Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on mechanical mechanics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences awarded the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics to Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger “for experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell’s inequalities and pioneering the science of l quantum information.

These researchers pioneered experiments with entangled quantum states, where two particles behave as a single unit even when separated, work that paved the way for new technologies based on quantum information.

A key factor in the development of quantum mechanics is that it allows two or more particles to exist in a so-called “entangled state”: what happens to one of these particles? determine what happens to the othereven if they are far away.

For a long time, the question was whether the correlation was due to the particles of an entangled pair containing hidden variables. In the 1960s, John Stewart Bell developed the mathematical inequality that bears his name and stipulated that, if there are hidden variables, the correlation between the results of a large number of measurements will never exceed a certain value.

However, quantum mechanics predicts that certain types of experiments will violate Bell’s inequality, resulting in a stronger correlation than would otherwise be possible.

John Clauser he demonstrated by practical experience that quantum mechanics cannot be replaced by a theory using hidden variables. Alain Aspect he continued these investigations using entangled pairs that had left his source.

Anton Zeilinger, for its part, began to use entangled quantum states. His research group has highlighted a phenomenon called quantum teleportation, which allows a quantum state of a particle to be moved to another distance.

“It has become increasingly clear that a new type of quantum technology is emerging. We can see that the laureates’ work with entangled states is of great importance, even beyond fundamental questions about the interpretation of quantum mechanics,” said Anders Irbäck, chairman of the Nobel Physics Committee.

Nobel Prize in Physics

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, based in Stockholm, decides each year to whom the physics prize is awarded based on proposals received from the scientific community around the world.

As established in the regulations, the prize is awarded to a maximum of three researchers, who will share the ten million Swedish crowns with which the Nobel is endowed this 2022, approximately €920,000.

Since the inception of this prize in 1901, it has been won by a total of 219 people, but only four women. This is the category with the fewest mentions of women among the six that make up these prestigious prizes created by Alfred Nobel.

the next prices

Until October 10, the prizes for Chemistry, Physics, Literature, Peace and Economics will be awarded, the latter being the only prize not stipulated in Alfred Nobel’s will.


  • Monday, October 3: Nobel Prize in Medicine
  • Tuesday, October 4: Nobel Prize in Physics
  • Wednesday, October 5: Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  • Thursday, October 6: Nobel Prize in Literature
  • Friday, October 7: Nobel Peace Prize (the only one that ships to Oslo, not Stockholm)
  • Monday, October 10: Bank of Sweden Prize in Tribute to Alfred Nobel (Economy).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *